Always Must Do Everything Correctly…

12/28/2008

big-and-little-edie-beale-grey-gardens
I’ve been watching Grey Gardens nonstop for the past 72 hours. I’m unsure about whether these two women are completely possessed by their undiagnosed schizophrenia or the sanest women I have ever observed. In any case, there is something so enviable about total surrender to a life unaffected by the world’s opinions. I can’t figure out whether these women are my terrifying failure-deterrents, or who I should strive to become. Line after unscripted line, they seem to get life just right:

Big Edie: Oh, look. That cat’s going to the bathroom right behind my portrait.

Little Edie: Ughh, how awful.

Big Edie: No, I’m glad. I’m glad somebody’s doing something what they want to do!

Leave a Reply

