Underrated Female #8: France Gall

11/11/2008

francegall2

Syrupy sixties chanteuse France Gall was the quintessential face of Sixties French pop. The Serge Gainsbourg and Michel Berger collaborator released over 65 singles and twenty albums during her singing career. Though many see Gall as a purveyor of fast-food audio fare that met a steep decline, Gall was actually the guileless vehicle for Gainsbourg-written lyrical jokes, resulting in a string of hit singles with hidden meanings that sullied her image. Songs like “Les Sucettes” (about a girl eating lollipops) and Bonsoir John John (written to a deceased JFK and tinged with hints of necrophelia) caught her unawares and hurt the success of subsequent releases.

In my opinion, Galle was a confident style icon, blindly in love with her husband Michel Berger, and all too trusting in a world that traded on her brand of naivete.

My favorite song of hers was the Gainsbourg collaboration, “Laisse Tomber les Filles” (“Forget the girls”)…

3 Responses to “Underrated Female #8: France Gall”

  1. victorbiola Says:

    Good post. I like France Gall. I have one of her songs on a French 60s compilation.
    If you like check my post vote-for-your-favourite-seductive-song. I cannot think of a particularly seductive song by FG, but if you know one please let me know. VictorBiola

  2. victorbiola Says:

    Good post. I like France Gall. I have one of her songs on a French 60s compilation.
    If you like check my post vote-for-your-favourite-seductive-song. I cannot think of a particularly seductive song by FG, but if you know one please let me know. VictorBiola


  3. […] 9, 2009 Recently Matt and I were sitting in our favorite geographic location in the universe and France Gall’s Laisse Tomber les Filles popped up on the playlist. Needless to say this is kind of an […]


Leave a Reply

