Duomo Vogue

10/22/2008

I’m into houses of worship. I’m probably one of the very few people in my age group who still goes to church every Sunday. I of course go for the spiritual sustenance, but the incense-laden pomp and circumstance of a high mass don’t hurt. Say what you want about the church these days, I love being a part of a ritual that goes back thousands of years.

I also love visiting other sacred sites, both for the history and the design. Il Duomo (the main cathedral) in Florence is pretty spectacular, but for interiors, I think Il Duomo in Sienna (by far my favorite Tuscan town) takes the cake. Amazing how the striped black and white marble is still a magnificently relevant design.

Leave a Reply

