Underrated Female No.1 – Türkan Soray

10/17/2008

Don’t get me wrong, I love Audrey Hepburn and Jackie O as much as the next girl, but there’s wealth of oft overlooked super-cool female icons to draw creative inspiration from if you bother to dig a little deeper. As they come to mind I am going to post them here here.

About ten years ago I spent a few weeks staying with a friend in the Turkish ghettos of Berlin. Since I look ambiguously ethnic I can pass for Turkish (or Persian, Hispanic, Italian, Israeli, or Indian) quite easily. My friend’s entire family kept telling me I was a dead ringer for some woman named “Turkan.” Apparently she was a big film star in Istanbul in the 60’s and 70’s and this was quite a compliment. Check out her eye make-up perfection.

Leave a Reply

