Fall Confection

10/17/2008

I think this is the year my favorite concoction makes its comeback to my cocktail party repertoire…

The Brandy Alexander is for me everything cool about being a grown up. When I was a poor kid growing up in Queens, I’d watch my mom’s super cool hustle-dancing boyfriend order these at the bar of the Hawaiian restaurant we went to while we waited for our flaming PuPu platter and he slipped me coins to toss in their illuminated tiki fountain. He and my mom would share one nutmeg-rimmed glassful and I would think they were the most fabulous sight I’d ever seen.

Now that I’m older and more comfortably situated, a Brandy Alexander is the perfect complement to my fall wardrobe. I can’t imagine anything I’d rather be sipping in my high stack-heeled tassel & kiltie “pumps” (I’ve been dying to use that word!) I suggest you all do the same. So break out your grandma’s classic coupe glasses (no cheesy martini glasses please!) and mix up a pitcher of lusciousness. Some footwear and cocktail coordination is long overdue.

Here’s the recipe:

1 1/2 oz Brandy
1 oz Dark Crème de Cacao
1 oz Half-and-half or Heavy Cream
1/4 tsp grated Nutmeg

In a shaker half-filled with ice cubes, combine the brandy, crème de cacao, and half-and-half. Shake well. Strain into a cocktail glass and garnish with the nutmeg. Sip while wearing high-heeled oxfords.

Leave a Reply

