Georgia Rules

07/17/2008

dsc02088.jpg

I’ve wanted to visit Savannah for as long as I can remember, so after reading a recent Domino (yes, I know) article on Georgia’s oldest city, I convinced Matt to take me to the home of Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil. I fell in love.

Now I have always been a sucker for city squares and antebellum architecture, and I loved Charleston when I visited… but Savannah blew me away. Along with Charleston and New Orleans, it is one of only three antebellum cities not burned to the ground by Union troops during the Civil War. General William Sherman spared Savannah from his fiery march to the sea because of its beauty and thus leaves us with one of the most carefully preserved colonial cities in the Americas. The perfect balance of haunted romance set against glorious live oaks dripping with Spanish Moss are my dream setting for a romantic weekend away with my honey.

We stayed at the stately Mansion on Forsyth Park, which is magnificently situated on Drayton Street directly across from the Forsyth Park Fountain and a lovely stroll away from the best shops and cafes in town.

By far my favorite place was the five floor Alex Raskin Antiques set in the magnificently ornate Hardee Mansion on Monterey Square. Rita Konig describes it perfectly: “Wandering in this shop, in the historic district’s largest house, is like being allowed to roam in a home that is in a state of perfect decay. The scale is amazing— glorious drippy chandeliers and wonderful old wallpaper on high-ceilinged walls. It is the place that gives the truest sense of Savannah at its most romantic and eerie. There are rooms full of cupboards and dressers, and more curiosities than you can imagine…

Antique shops abound and next in line is a store I wished I’d opened myself, The Paris Market & Brocante on Broughton Street, the city’s hippest shopping stretch. Sort of like a general store for the senses, you can get everything here from lemonade and cupcakes to the rarest coffee table books, vintage shell collections, Mexican candles, Santa Maria Novella toiletries, vintage signs, and more. Just down the street are a string of other cool shops including a terrific and affordable vintage store and a bargain basement Marc by Marc Jacobs emporium!!!

I could go on and on about all the wonderful discoveries on adjacent Whitaker Street, stories of haunted houses and Civil War legends, but that would spoil the fun. The best part about Savannah is what you stumble onto when you’re just strolling around – like the unlikely home of Girl Scout Founder, Juliette Gordon Low!

Read up HERE.

dsc02075.jpgdsc02105.jpgdsc02090.jpgdsc02076.jpgdsc02077.jpgdsc02095.jpgdsc02101.jpg

Leave a Reply

